Robert Glasper, Kamasi Washington, Terrace Martin, and 9th Wonder have formed a supergroup, Dinner Party

By CLTure News

June 25, 2020

Robert Glasper, Kamasi Washington, Terrace Martin, and North Carolina’s own 9th Wonder have formed a new supergroup, Dinner Party. The newly-formed musical project unveiled a soulful new single “Freeze Tag,” from their self-titled debut album due out on July 10. 

With vocals by Chicago singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Phoelix, the frequent Noname, Saba, and Smino collaborator adds tranquility to the classic hip-hop drums of 9th Wonder. The lyrics address some of the country’s current racial injustice and police brutality issues:

“They told me put my hands up behind my head / I think they got the wrong one / I’m sick and tired of runnin’ / I been searchin’ where the love went / I been lookin’ for a dove / Then they told me if I move, they gon’ shoot me dead.”

With shimmering guitar work by Marlon Williams that helps pace the song, Terrace Martin and Kamasi Washington add their saxophones with perfect timing as Glasper slowly builds up for an enchanting outro that eventually ends with Martin and Washington. 

The seven-track self-titled album by Dinner Party is set to be released on July 10.

Dinner Party tracklist:

1 – “Sleepless Nights” (feat. Phoelix)
2 – “Love You Bad” (feat. Phoelix)
3 – “From My Heart and My Soul” (feat. Phoelix)
4 – “First Responders”
5 – “The Mighty Tree”
6 – “Freeze Tag” (feat. Phoelix)
7 – “Luv U”

Read next: 

In this article