Charlotte FC will join star-studded 7-on-7 TST soccer tournament in Cary this summer

By CLTure

March 9, 2023

Charlotte FC will be the first Major League Soccer franchise to join the 32-team field for the TST 7-on-7 soccer tournament at WakeMed Stadium in Cary, NC June 1-4. Charlotte FC will join Wrexham AFC (owned by Ryan Reynolds and Rob McElhenney), English Premier League club Wolverhampton Wanderers F.C., the U.S. Women’s team captained by Heather O’Reilly, and former U.S. Men’s National Team star Clint Dempsey’s Team Dempsey.

“We’re thrilled to be part of the inaugural TST tournament which showcases our Club in an innovative new environment. TST is a great addition for soccer in the Carolinas and we’re excited to be involved in another opportunity to showcase the growth of the game in our region,” Charlotte FC President Joe LaBue communicated in a press release.

The 11th team to publicly announce their participation in the inaugural $1 million winner-take-all soccer tournament, all winnings will be donated to the AW5 Family Fund, in honor of the late Anton Walkes. Charlotte FC will be sharing more about the roster for the TST 7-on-7 tournament in the coming months.

The format will follow the World Cup structure with 32 teams facing off in group play before moving into the knockout stages. The games will be played on a reduced-size field with slightly smaller goals and will consist of two 20-minute halves.

Founded in 2014 by comedy writer and television producer Jonathan Mugar (Tim and Eric on Adult Swim) as a basketball tournament (TBT), TST (The Soccer Tournament) was announced in October of 2022. 12-time NBA All-Star and Winston Salem native Chris Paul is also a co-owner of the soccer tournament.

Official site map for The Soccer Tournament (TST) in Cary, North Carolina at at WakeMed Stadium.

Learn more about TST (The Soccer Tournament) taking place June 1-4 at WakeMed Stadium in Cary, North Carolina. Tickets start at $35 which grants access to all match fields as well as the beer garden, exhibitor row, and kids’ zone.


Wednesday, May 31: Arrivals
Thursday, June 1: Group Play Starts
Friday, June 2: Group Play Ends
Friday, June 2: Knockout Round (16 teams)
Saturday, June 3: Quarterfinals and Semifinals
Sunday, June 4: $1 Million Championship

Read next: 

In this article